Historical South Campus of Sun Yat-Sen University

Sun Yat-sen University (traditional Chinese: 中山大學; simplified Chinese: 中山大学; pinyin: Zhōngshān Dàxué), abbreviated SYSU and colloquially known in Chinese as Zhongda (Chinese: 中大; pinyin: Zhōngdà), also known as Zhongshan University, is a major Chinese public research university located in Guangzhou, Guangdong, China.

It was founded in 1924 by and named after Sun Yat-sen, a revolutionary and the founding father of the Republic of China. The school’s main campus commonly referred to as the South Campus, is located in Haizhu District, Guangzhou, inheriting the campus from the former Lingnan University. The university has five campuses in the three cities of Guangzhou, Zhuhai, and Shenzhen, and ten affiliated hospitals.